The “HUNT DOWN” Method

After Wednesday’s class, I was left wondering what would be the best decision for me as a teacher in assigning “deadlines.” I literally lost sleep over this, not in a bad way of course, but because my mind mostly looks like this while trying to sleep.

sleepless

I finally decided to solve this issue like I do with every other stressful futuristic goal. Stop worrying.

And….
success

Dr. Ellington provided her example of how she addressed students who didn’t turn in their work on time. HUNT THEM DOWN. Which, I whole-heartedly agree with. It’s 1) Funny as hell 2) Intimidating 3) Clearly effective.

I understand that there is going to be different methods for everyone. Let’s be honest, not one single classroom is just like another. And how do we know this? From experience as students. Which is why I think Dr. Ellington’s “hunt down” method worked so well. I know as a student I would have DIED if my teacher met me outside of another classroom, joined me at lunch time, or strolled out on the golf course to request my missing work. (And my died I mean socially abandon all hope of Lindsey’s quote on quote “coolness”-great story by the way!) My personal experience gives me feedback as to how my students would react. In a sense, we are teaching the students we once were…minus a few cosmetic and technological changes.

I know that I have preached this before, but I do believe it is our experience that is going to shape our methods. The best we can do is have some “preconceived” notions about how we would “like” our classroom to be and what methods we would “like” to adapt…but, I have a feeling those will all change (in either a mild or explosive format).

So as for deadlines, Dr. Ellington, I am going to embrace your eclectic and energetic method of hunting my students down…”or else.”

drastic

Okay, maybe not this drastic….I’ll rephrase it a little.

2 thoughts on “The “HUNT DOWN” Method

  1. Loved your post, Mariah! I think my students secretly liked being hunted down because most of them had never before had a teacher appear to care so insanely much about their success. Hunting them down became a way to proclaim loudly to anyone who happened to be in earshot, “YOU MATTER!” And that’s the message our students need to hear. Once I figured out how to work with my students psychologically, I didn’t have problems with missing work, because missing work is often a psychological problem–not an educational one. If that makes sense…

  2. Pingback: Thoughts about Late Work Policies | the dirigible plum

Leave a Reply

