Believe and Reap

“Writing teachers much be writers and they must be master teachers” -Penny Kittle

I came across this quote in reading Penny Kittle’s “I Believe.” Immediately I had to jot it down. Shortly after I set aside my reading and jumped right into my writer’s notebook. It was from this quote and from my past “writer’s block” or laziness that I realized in order for me to improve, I had to practice. And there is no better time to start than NOW.

If I don’t practice my writing skills, I cannot expect to teach writing effectively, or that my student’s will practice their writing skills. Lead by example.

The word “believe” has recently become very dear to me. It is one of the few terms that comes to mind when I think about my journey through college. I had to BELIEVE I could achieve-the same notion I want my student’s to be able to adapt, practice, and embrace.

“Believe” is also one of my “5 Words” I selected for my future classroom. I, myself, believe that all students have the capability to succeed. Now the tricky part; getting students to believe in themselves. This also ties in with my “bottom line” for teaching. Even if I can’t “get through” to a student…even if they despise reading and writing…I still want them to be able to believe. This is my bottom line of “positive” change I have to achieve as a teacher.

Happy Friday Everyone.

One thought on “Believe and Reap

  1. Love your post, Mariah! What a vision for a classroom: even if you can’t make every kid into a reader or writer, you can give them hope, you can help them to believe in themselves. And that’s more important than any curriculum we may teach. I don’t mean to downplay our subject because obviously I’m passionate about reading & writing and about teaching reading & writing. But ultimately, we teach people who bring so many different stories and experiences into our classrooms. There are other ways to effect change in our students than only academically or mentally. We teachers often have to be the ones who believe first. Our belief helps our students begin to believe.

    I agree with what you say about writing. How can we teach what we don’t do? How can we possibly know what our students need if we ourselves aren’t writing? I write in my classroom because I’m one of the primary sources of curriculum development in my classroom. I look to my own literacy practices to figure out what I can and should teach to my students.

Leave a Reply

